Skip to Content
Not for ourselves alone


Student Leadership

Through a variety of roles within the school, students at Mount Barker High School can enjoy a range of opportunities to develop their leadership skills.

Each year, a number of students are elected by their year-level peers to represent them on the Student Representative Council (SRC). This is the main student leadership body, and members of the SRC serve on the Governing Council, as well as the Uniform, Canteen, Facilities and other committees. The SRC meets regularly to share feedback from the student body and plan action based on student input.

Students from the SRC also represent the school at community events, such as the ANZAC Day Dawn Service, and coordinate ‘Appreciative Inquiry’ leadership seminars for regional student leaders.

Our school Academic Achievers’ Assemblies are led by students, giving them valuable experience in public speaking.

Each of the school’s houses are led by male and female Captains and Vice Captains who are involved in the organisation and leadership of the school house competition.

Students also have opportunities to be involved in leadership roles through arts events, transition visits, sporting teams, and camps.