Skip to Content
Not for ourselves alone


Harold Mitchell Inclusive Education Centre

About the Harold Mitchell Inclusive EducationCentre at Mount Barker High School

The Harold Mitchell Inclusive Education Centre (HMIEC) provides high-quality education for students in Years 8 to 12 who have a verified intellectual disability and other additional needs.  Entry into HMIEC is through a panel process managed by the Department for Education’s Mount Barker Regional Office.  We have the capacity for 28 students across three classes led by experienced teachers and SSOs. 

Web readyDSC_2587Our Philosophy
All students are supported to develop their independence and life skills to further their post-school options and capacities to be successful participants in the community. 

In HMIEC, students are immersed in the Australian Curriculum, which is used as a guide for teachers to create focused individual One Plan goals for each student in their class.  These goals are designed within the curriculum's general capabilities and include areas such as Literacy, Numeracy, Personal and Social and Critical and Creative Thinking goals.  One Plan goals are set in conjunction with parents and carers in Term 1 of each school year and reviewed in Term 3.  Assessment and reporting is based on student progression towards these personalised specific learning goals.  Our senior secondary students (Years 10 to 12) additionally complete work towards attaining their modified SACE (South Australian Certificate of Education) by the time they finish Year 12.  They all complete a modified SACE curriculum that is individualised and appropriate for each student. This curriculum is discussed at One Plan meetings with parents/carers, and modified SACE goals are developed. Teachers use a variety of assessment tasks to provide evidence against what is reported in this report, such as teacher observation, photos, student work and checklists.  In addition to the general capabilities and modified SACE curriculum taught in each classroom, teachers use a variety of work from the Learning Areas in the Australian curriculum document.  These areas include English, Mathematics, Science, HASS (Humanities and Social Sciences), The Arts, Technologies, Health and P.E.

Community Engagement
Our students participate in various opportunities around the local and wider community.  These include:       

  • Events organised by Ladies of Variety        
  • Reclink         
  • Bedford        
  • Lincoln Park Horse and Human Rehabilitation Centre